ADULT residential

Our programs are built on evidence-based, best practice models, and designed to help you successfully overcome each barrier you face.

Since 1971, Odyssey's Adult Residential substance abuse program has helped tens of thousands of people across the nation. We tackle drug addiction from the ground up — combining services to address substance abuse, mental health, negative beliefs and behaviors, poor job skills, housing, physical health, rebuilding healthy relationships and more. By the time people successfully complete our care, they will be sober, employed, housed, have access to medical care, and independently living a healthy life.

It is very common for adults struggling with substance abuse to have mental health needs. Our treatment team includes licensed mental health therapists who are specially trained to work with mental health issues like depression, anxiety, mood disorders, antisocial personality disorder, and trauma.

Odyssey's adult inpatient programs help individuals improve their communication skills, emotion regulation, and address the negative stigma associated with drug use. Many people feel guilt and shame and have harmed people they love. Odyssey helps individuals heal and rebuild their healthy support system so they can be successful in long-term recovery.

SPECIALTIES

It is critical you receive all of the tools to address the underlying reasons why you are using drugs. Living a healthy life is vital to staying sober.

Life Skills

Adults reinforce a healthy routine while in inpatient including cooking, doing laundry, the importance of keeping your space clean, etc.

Leadership

Our addiction treatment model provides opportunity for leadership in the peer community creating self worth and motivation.

Education

In partnership with Salt Lake City School District, adults can obtain their GED and receive vocational services while in treatment.

Recreation

Many people participate in our recreation and cultural events sober for the first time in years. We want to show you can have fun in recovery.

Accountability

Adults learn what it means to be accountable for their actions and how they impact others. This is a very important skill for recovering addicts.

healthy relationships

Adults repair healthy relationships that were strained due to their drug use and walk away from negative relationships that led to drug use.

Vocational Education

Many adults entering our care have either no work experience or have struggled to hold down a job due to their drug and alcohol use. Odyssey House operates both internal and external sheltered work sites in partnership with local business. Adults in our residential care will learn the daily routine needed to hold down a healthy job and multiple skills that go along with employment. Adults will have a job, housing, and medical care by the time they complete our full treatment stay.

Insurance

Odyssey House has over 48 funding contracts to help people access addiction treatment. You may have coverage by commercial insurance or Medicaid, which helps provide quick access to care. Our Admissions Team can evaluate if you qualify for government contracts that may pay for your inpatient treatment if you are located in Utah. Please contact our Admissions Team at 801-322-3222 to discuss your needs or read more on our insurance funding page.

Adult Residential Staff - DOWNTOWN

Cheral Chivers-Hughes

ACMHC, LSUDC
Adult Residential Director
cchivers@odysseyhouse.org
(801) 428-3458

Stephanie Young

CMHC
Clinical Director
stephyoung@odysseyhouse.org
(801) 428-3243

Neal Tate

ACMHC, LSUDC, MRT
Program Manager
ntate@odysseyhouse.org
(801) 428-3464

Julia Murphy

ACMHC
Clinical Coordinator
jmurphy@odysseyhouse.org
(801) 428-3468

Chris Ostler

- - -
Vocational Training Supervisor
costler@odysseyhouse.org
(801) 428-3429

Karen Kelly

LAMFT
Therapist
kkelly@odysseyhouse.org
(801) 428-3451

Tamara M Wright

ACMHC
Therapist
twright@odysseyhouse.org
(801) 428-3476

Jason Smith

CSW
Therapist
jasonsmith@odysseyhouse.org
(801) 428-3410

Morgan Harnicher

SUDC
Counselor
mharnicher@odysseyhouse.org
(801) 828-0409

Damon Harris

CPSS
Case Manager
dharris@odysseyhouse.org
(801) 428-3474

Crystal Yazzie

- - -
Case Manager
cyazzie@odysseyhouse.org
(801) 428-3474

Chelsea Lambrose

CPSS
Peer Support Supervisor
clambrose@odysseyhouse.org
(801) 428-2003

Ed Schwartz

- - -
Support Staff Supervisor
eschwartz@odysseyhouse.org
(801) 428-3456

Norman Taylor

- - -
Medical Coordinator
ntaylor@odysseyhouse.org
(801) 428-3461

Sarah Caudill

CPPS
Floss Coordinator
scaudill@odysseyhouse.org
(801) 428-3455

Betty Long

- - -
Kitchen Manager
bettylong@odysseyhouse.org
(801) 428-3460

Adult Residential Staff - MILLCREEK

Cheral Chivers-Hughes

ACMHC, LSUDC
Adult Residential Director
cchivers@odysseyhouse.org
(801) 428-3458

Ann Coburn

SUDC
Program Manager
acoburn@odysseyhouse.org
(385) 347-5703

Melanie Criddle

ACMHC
Clinical Coordinator
mcriddle@odysseyhouse.org
(385) 347-5239

Rich Brand

ACMHC
Therapist
rbrand@odysseyhouse.org
(385) 347-5701

Alex Jackson

CSW
Therapist
ajackson@odysseyhouse.org
(385) 347-5704

Jessica Cowan

MSWi
Case Manager
jcowan@odysseyhouse.org
(385) 347-5246

Mario Rodriguez

SUDC
Counselor
mrodriguez@odysseyhouse.org
(385) 347-5702

Steve Hatch

CSUDC
Therapist
Shatch@odysseyhouse.org
(385) 347-5246 Ext 1404

Alicia Dalton

- - -
Case Manager
adalton@odysseyhouse.org
(385) 347-5235

Chloe Schutz

- - -
Case Manager
cschutz@odysseyhouse.org
(385) 347-5231

Melissa Chavez

- - -
Case Manager
mchavez@odysseyhouse.org
(385) 347-5700

Tyson Allred

- - -
Support Staff Supervisor
tallred@odysseyhouse.org
(385) 347-5233

Jessica Guillen

- - -
Medical Coordinator
jguillen@odysseyhouse.org
(385) 347-5242