ADULT residential

Our programs are built on evidence-based, best practice models, and designed to help you successfully overcome each barrier you face.

Since 1971, Odyssey's Adult Residential substance abuse program has helped tens of thousands of people across the nation. We tackle drug addiction from the ground up — combining services to address substance abuse, mental health, negative beliefs and behaviors, poor job skills, housing, physical health, rebuilding healthy relationships and more. By the time people successfully complete our care, they will be sober, employed, housed, have access to medical care, and independently living a healthy life.

It is very common for adults struggling with substance abuse to have mental health needs. Our treatment team includes licensed mental health therapists who are specially trained to work with mental health issues like depression, anxiety, mood disorders, antisocial personality disorder, and trauma.

Odyssey's adult inpatient programs help individuals improve their communication skills, emotion regulation, and address the negative stigma associated with drug use. Many people feel guilt and shame and have harmed people they love. Odyssey helps individuals heal and rebuild their healthy support system so they can be successful in long-term recovery.

SPECIALTIES

It is critical you receive all of the tools to address the underlying reasons why you are using drugs. Living a healthy life is vital to staying sober.

Life Skills

Adults reinforce a healthy routine while in inpatient including cooking, doing laundry, the importance of keeping your space clean, etc.

Leadership

Our addiction treatment model provides opportunity for leadership in the peer community creating self worth and motivation.

Education

In partnership with Salt Lake City School District, adults can obtain their GED and receive vocational services while in treatment.

Recreation

Many people participate in our recreation and cultural events sober for the first time in years. We want to show you can have fun in recovery.

Accountability

Adults learn what it means to be accountable for their actions and how they impact others. This is a very important skill for recovering addicts.

healthy relationships

Adults repair healthy relationships that were strained due to their drug use and walk away from negative relationships that led to drug use.

Vocational Education

Many adults entering our care have either no work experience or have struggled to hold down a job due to their drug and alcohol use. Odyssey House operates both internal and external sheltered work sites in partnership with local business. Adults in our residential care will learn the daily routine needed to hold down a healthy job and multiple skills that go along with employment. Adults will have a job, housing, and medical care by the time they complete our full treatment stay.

Insurance

Odyssey House has over 48 funding contracts to help people access addiction treatment. You may have coverage by commercial insurance or Medicaid, which helps provide quick access to care. Our Admissions Team can evaluate if you qualify for government contracts that may pay for your inpatient treatment if you are located in Utah. Please contact our Admissions Team at 801-322-3222 to discuss your needs or read more on our insurance funding page.

Adult Residential Staff - DOWNTOWN

Cheral Chivers-Hughes

CMHC, LASUDC
Adult Residential Director
cchivers@odysseyhouse.org
(801) 428-3458

Melanie Criddle

CMHC
Clinical Director
mcriddle@odysseyhouse.org
(385) 347-5239

Heather Haller

- - -
Program Manager
hhaller@odysseyhouse.org
(801) 428-3462

Neal Tate

CMHC, LSUDC
Clinical Coordinator
ntate@odysseyhouse.org
(801) 428-3464

Chris Ostler

- - -
Vocational Training Supervisor
costler@odysseyhouse.org
(801) 428-3429

Jennifer Buttrick

ACMHCi
Therapist
jbuttrick@odysseyhouse.org
(801) 322-1001

Karen Kelly

AMFT
Therapist
kkelly@odysseyhouse.org
(801) 428-3451

Tracie Mower

CPSS
CPSS Supervisor
tmower@odysseyhouse.org
(801) 322-1001

Dawn Henson

- - -
Medical Coordinator
dhenson@odysseyhouse.org
(801) 322-1001

James Essex

CMHC
Therapist
jessex@odysseyhouse.org
(801) 322-1001

Michael Wahl

ACMHC
Therapist
mwahl@odysseyhouse.org
(801) 322-1001

Justin Hughes

- - -
Case Manager/CPSS
jhughhes@odysseyhouse.org
(801) 428-3455

Damon Harris

CPSS
Case Manager
dharris@odysseyhouse.org
(801) 428-3474

Ed Schwartz

CPSS
Kitchen Manager
eschwartz@odysseyhouse.org
(801) 428-3456

Alex Jackson

CSW
Utilization Review
ajackson@odysseyhouse.org
(385) 347-5704

Keira Davis

- - -
PIVT Manager
kdavis@odysseyhouse.org
(801) 322-1001

Jerome Christophe

- - -
- - -
jchristophe@odysseyhouse.org
(801) 322-1001

Adult Residential Staff - MILLCREEK

Cheral Chivers-Hughes

CMHC, LASUDC
Adult Residential Director
cchivers@odysseyhouse.org
(801) 428-3458

Jaclyn Smith

M.Ed., CMHC
Clinical Director
jsmith@odysseyhouse.org
(801) 428-3291

Ann Coburn

LSUDC
Program Manager
acoburn@odysseyhouse.org
(385) 347-5703

Mario Rodriguez

LASUDC
Clinical Coordinator
mrodriguez@odysseyhouse.org
(385) 347-5702

Jessica Guillen

- - -
Medical Coordinator
jguillen@odysseyhouse.org
(385) 347-5242

Iris Gonzales

CSW
Therapist
igonzales@odysseyhouse.org
(385) 347-5246

Desa-Rae Robertson

- - -
Case Manager
drobertson@odysseyhouse.org
(385) 347-5246

Steve Hatch

LASUDC
Therapist
Shatch@odysseyhouse.org
(385) 347-5246

Anne Charles

CSW
Therapist
acharles@odysseyhouse.org
(385) 347-5246

Michael Cox

- - -
Case Manager
mcox@odysseyhouse.org
(385) 347-5235

Anita Segura

- - -
Case Manager
asegura@odysseyhouse.org
385-347-5231

Brooke Cowan

- - -
Case Manager
bcowan@odysseyhouse.org
(385) 347-5246

Chris Ostler

- - -
Vocational Training Supervisor
costler@odysseyhouse.org
(801) 428-3429

Melissa Chavez

- - -
Kitchen manager
mchavez@odysseyhouse.org
(385) 347-5700

Keira Davis

- - -
PIVT Manager
kdavis@odysseyhouse.org
(801) 322-1001

Michael Vredenburg

- - -
Support Staff Supervisor
mvredenburg@odysseyhouse.org
(385) 347-5233